bookmark this website
add to calendar
conference sponsor
Conference Sponsors
  • Allergan

  • Ipsen Pty Ltd

  • Mundipharma

  • Restorative Therapies

  • Ipsen Pty Ltd

Adrian Paul Memorial Prize

Established in 1986 by the Australasian College of Rehabilitation Medicine (ACRM) and based on an original donation of $2000 by Mrs Nancy Paul the widow of Dr. A. Paul, Director of the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine of the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital. 

The prize is awarded annually for the best scientific paper presented at the Faculty’s Annual Scientific Meeting or for the best scientific paper published in a refereed medical journal. (Posters and abstracts at ASM also considered.)  

All registered AFRM trainees and ‘graduates/new Fellows’’ in their first year are eligible to apply for consideration for the Prize.  The non-invited papers/poster presentations at the ASM (presented in person or not), or published scientific articles in the previous 12 months (calendar year) are considered.

Scoring System
Each possible entry will have its content, originality and presentation considered (journal articles considered for their illustrations, tables and figures)

Selection Panel
At the ASM there are two judges, at least one of whom should be an academic, who score the submissions, but in addition, all trainees and new Fellows who wish to be considered for the Prize, including those who have presented scientific papers or posters at the Annual Scientific Meeting, are required to submit an electronic copy of their paper or poster to Faculty Office for consideration, before 31 October each year.  In consultation with the ASM judges the winner is decided during the annual face-to-face Faculty Education Committee (FEC) meeting in November.

$1,000 each year (since 2012) and a certificate.

The Prize is presented to the winner by the College President at the next College Ceremony