Keynote Speakers


Keynote Speakers

Ian Baguley

Associate Professor Ian Baguley

A/Professor Ian Baguley (MBBS PHD FAFRM OAM) is a Rehabilitation Medicine Physician based in Sydney, Australia. He is a Senior Staff Specialist and the Research Team Leader of Westmead Hospital’s Brain Injury Rehabilitation Service, holding academic positions with the University of Sydney and Macquarie University. He has published over 70 refereed journal articles with a focus on neurological rehabilitation, particularly traumatic brain injury and spasticity management. He obtained his PhD with research into Paroxysmal Sympathetic Hyperactivity and was awarded an Order of Australia Medal in 2014 for service to medicine, particularly brain injury rehabilitation.

Ian Cameron

Professor Ian Cameron

Professor Ian Cameron is a rehabilitation physician who works as a clinician researcher. He is Head of the John Walsh Centre for Rehabilitation Research at the University of Sydney. Ian works clinically at Hornsby Ku-ring-gai Hospital and in rural outreach clinics.




Manuela Ferreira

Associate Professor Manuela Ferreira

A/ Professor Manuela Ferreira is a physiotherapist with a strong background in clinical research. She completed her PhD at the University of Sydney in 2005, is a Sydney Medical Foundation Fellow and is Senior Research Fellow at the George Institute for Global Health and the Institute of Bone and Joint Research, the University of Sydney. The main strand of her research has been clinical research in back pain, particularly back pain in the elders, including better understanding the mechanisms and treatment effectiveness of interventions for lumbar spinal stenosis and vertebral compression fracture. A/Prof Ferreira has published over 105 scientific papers, is supervisor to 9 PhD students, reviewer for over 13 scientific journals (e.g. BMJ, Annals of Internal Medicine, Journal of Clinical Epidemiology, Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation) and section editor for BMC Musculoskeletal Disorders. 

Peter Harradine

Dr Peter Harradine

Dr Peter Harradine has been a consultant Rehabilitation Physician, Director & Senior Staff Specialist at Tamworth Base Hospital for past 20 years. He is the Conjoint Senior Lecturer University of Newcastle Department of Rural Health, Tamworth. Dr Harradine was the Treasurer and Council Member of AFRM from 2002 to 2014. He is the Treasurer and is on the Member Board of Directors for RMSANZ. He is a visiting medical officer at the Tamara Private Hospital, Tamworth.

Kok-Eng Khor

Dr Kok-Eng Khor

Dr Kok-Eng Khor is currently a Senior Staff Specialist and Director of Department of Pain Management in Prince of Wales Hospital in Sydney, Australia. His main interests are management of persistent pain in a multidisciplinary setting; application of interventional techniques such as nerve blocks and neuromodulation for chronic non-cancer and cancer pain; management of the complex acute postoperative pain; and use of long-term opioids in chronic non-cancer pain.


Lynette Lee

Associate Professor Lynette Lee

A/Professor Lynette Lee has qualifications in Rehabilitation Medicine and Medical Administration and she has had a long term interest in health policy issues for people with disabilities. She is currently employed as Head of Assessment in the School of Medicine Sydney of Notre Dame University Australia.

A/Professor Lee is presenting at this conference on her research into population planning for specialist health services for people with Intellectual Disability. 


James Middleton

Associate Professor James Middleton

A/Professor James Middleton is Director of the NSW State Spinal Cord Injury Service, Agency for Clinical Innovation and previously Medical Director of Moorong Spinal Unit, Royal Rehab (1996-2006). He has been a clinician-researcher for over 20 years, undertaking interdisciplinary research in functional, psychological, health and participation outcomes, pain management, health service delivery and utilization, quality of life, life expectancy and use of assistive technologies, such as functional electrical stimulation. A/Professor Middleton is President of Youthsafe (formerly the Spinesafe Education Program), an NGO focused on multi-strategic approaches to Youth Injury Prevention. He was the inaugural Chair of the Clinical Trials Committee of the Spinal Cord Injury Network Australian and New Zealand (SCIN), which he helped to establish as the Steering Committee Chair in 2006. 

Roslyn Mozer

Dr Roslyn Mozer

Dr Roslyn Mozer is a Rehabilitation Medicine Specialist practicing primarily in community setting in Newcastle NSW. Her interests include management of spasticity and musculoskeletal disorders with use of diagnostic ultrasound for diagnosis and needle guidance. Dr Mozer enjoys teaching ultrasound to those without any ultrasound experience. 




Michael Pollack

Associate Professor Michael Pollack

A/ Professor Michael Pollack is a Senior Staff Specialist in Rehabilitation Medicine who has had a strong interest in stroke rehabilitation for many years.  He has chaired the working parties which developed the first National Guidelines on Stroke Rehabilitation in Australia, and the first National Framework for Stroke Rehabilitation (with the National Stroke Foundation).  He also cofounded the Australasian Stroke Unit Network (which has now evolved into the Australasian Stroke Coalition).  He has chaired Stroke services NSW (ACI), and is currently on the Executive Committee of the Rehabilitation Clinical Network (ACI).  He has been involved with stroke research for a number of years, and is currently an Associate Investigator with the Centre of Research Excellence in Stroke Rehabilitation and Brain Recovery.


Contact us

For further information please contact the Secretariat:
DC Conferences Pty Ltd | Suite 103, Level 1, 3-5 West Street, North Sydney NSW 2060, Australia | PO Box 637, North Sydney 2059
P: 612 9954 4400 | F: 612 9954 0666 | E:

Another online solution from CocoNET